As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick answer: If you want a doorbell that records into HomeKit Secure Video and you'd rather not think about it again, the Aqara Doorbell Camera G400 at $99.99 is the most complete pick in this group — wired or PoE power, 2K sensor with a 165° head-to-toe view, Wi-Fi 6, and local person detection. The catch is real: HomeKit caps its resolution at 1200p, and HSV recording requires an iCloud+ plan plus an Apple home hub. If your doorbell wiring doesn't exist, the battery-capable Aqara G4 is the one to look at instead.
Specifications
| Spec | Aqara G400 | Aqara G410 | Aqara G4 | Wemo Smart Video Doorbell |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $99.99 | $144.99 | $79.99 | $69.99 |
| HomeKit Secure Video | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Resolution | 2K HD (1200p via HomeKit) | Not stated | 1080p FHD | HD with HDR; resolution not stated |
| Field of view | 165° ultra-wide, 3:4 aspect | Not stated | Not stated | 223° diagonal (178° V × 140° H) |
| Power | PoE or existing 8–24V AC/DC wiring | Not stated | 6× AA battery pack (included) or 12–24V AC / 8–24V DC wiring | Wired 16–24V AC only |
| Wi-Fi | 2.4GHz + 5GHz Wi-Fi 6, WPA3 | Not stated | 2.4GHz only, WPA3 | 2.4GHz + 5GHz |
| Motion detection | Local person recognition, zone intrusion | mmWave radar, adjustable sensitivity | Local AI face recognition | Face recognition (via HomeKit) |
| Local storage | Not stated | microSD up to 512GB in chime (card not included) | microSD up to 512GB in chime repeater; NAS via Samba | Not stated |
| Night vision | 940nm infrared LEDs | Not stated | Not stated | Infrared, low-light sensitivity |
| Other ecosystems | Alexa, Google, SmartThings, RTSP/ONVIF, NVR | Matter, Alexa, Google, SmartThings, Home Assistant | Alexa, Google, IFTTT | Apple HomeKit |
| Weather rating | IP65 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Chime included | Yes | Yes | Yes (95 dB chime-repeater) | Not stated |
- Works with HomeKit Secure Video and All Major Ecosystems: Fully compatible with Apple HomeKit Secure Video (HSV) for encrypted recording, iCloud storage, and real-time
- 2K HD 165° Head-to-Toe Vision: See everything from packages at your feet to faces at the door. Featuring 2K HD resolution and a 165° ultra-wide field of view with a 3:4 aspect
- 【HomeKit Secure Video Doorbell & Local Face Recognition】Connect your Aqara Video Doorbell G4 to Apple HomeKit Secure Video to keep your data safe. *To record and playback using
- 【24/7 Recording & Multiple Storage Methods】24/7 recording helps you to check your front door - Micro SD card(not included) must be inserted. 24/7 recording is only available in
- Works with HomeKit Secure Video and All Major Ecosystems: Fully compatible with Apple HomeKit Secure Video (HSV) for encrypted recording, iCloud storage, and relevant
- Built-In Aqara Zigbee & Matter Hub for Simple Device Control: No extra hub needed. This doorbell includes a built-in Zigbee and Matter hub, letting you connect and manage other
- Works with HomeKit Secure Video and All Major Ecosystems: Fully compatible with Apple HomeKit Secure Video (HSV) for encrypted recording, iCloud storage, and relevant
- Built-In Aqara Zigbee & Matter Hub for Simple Device Control: No extra hub needed. This doorbell camera includes a built-in Zigbee and Matter hub, letting you connect and manage
- COMPATIBLE WITH HOMEKIT SECURE VIDEO: With Apple HomeKit this smart video doorbell camera can send notifications to your Apple iPhone, helping you see who is at your door with
- WIFI CAMERA WITH WIDE FIELD OF VIEW: Our home security camera has a super wide FOV measuring 178° vertical x 140° horizontal x 223° diagonal, so you’ll never miss a doorbell ring
Who the G400 is for
You already live in the Apple ecosystem, you have a HomePod or Apple TV acting as a home hub, and you're paying for iCloud+ anyway. That's the baseline requirement — without both, HomeKit Secure Video simply won't record, and this is a spec you should verify about your own house before buying anything on this page.
Beyond that, the G400 makes most sense if you have doorbell wiring or a PoE run. It reuses existing 8–24V AC/DC wiring, which means no batteries to swap and no charging ritual. The 3:4 aspect ratio matters more than the megapixel count: a vertical frame shows the doormat and the person's face in the same shot, which is the entire point of a doorbell camera. Traditional 16:9 sensors crop the floor out.
Finding the right video doorbell for apple homekit comes down to matching the features to how you will actually use it.
It's also the pick if you want an exit hatch from Apple's walled garden. RTSP/ONVIF and NVR support mean the camera can feed a local recorder independently of HomeKit — unusual in a $99 doorbell, and useful if you ever migrate platforms. The IP65 rating and 940nm infrared LEDs (which don't glow visibly at night) round it out.
Who should skip it
Skip it if you don't have doorbell wiring and don't want to run any. The G400 is wired or PoE, full stop. Renters and anyone in an apartment with no existing chime transformer should look at a battery-capable option.
Skip it if 2K is the reason you're buying. Connected to HomeKit, the resolution is limited to 1200p — and Aqara notes that limitation carries over to the Aqara Home app when both platforms run at once. You're paying for a 2K sensor you can't fully use in the exact scenario this article is about.
Skip it if you want the doorbell to double as your smart home hub. The G400 doesn't list one; the G410 does.
And skip it if you're on the cheapest possible path. HomeKit Secure Video requires an iCloud+ subscription, and that recurring cost outlives the hardware discount.
The honest trade-offs
The HomeKit resolution ceiling is the big one. Every Aqara model here advertises specs that HomeKit partially constrains. If you plan to live entirely inside the Home app, you are buying hardware headroom you won't see.
Storage philosophy differs sharply. The G4 and G410 both take a microSD card up to 512GB, and in both cases the slot lives inside the indoor chime rather than in the outdoor unit — a genuinely smart design, because a stolen doorbell doesn't take your footage with it. The G400's listing doesn't state microSD support, so it leans on HSV/iCloud or an NVR. Decide which model of storage you actually want before you pick a unit.
Wired-only is a feature and a limitation. The G400 and the Wemo both require wiring; the Wemo specifically needs 16–24V AC. Constant power means no dead batteries and, on the G4, enables 24/7 recording — but only in wired mode. The G4's battery option costs you that continuous recording.
Wi-Fi bands are not a footnote. The G4 is 2.4GHz only, no 5GHz. If your front door is far from the router, 2.4GHz is arguably the better band anyway, but it's a real spec difference from the G400's dual-band Wi-Fi 6.
Detection method varies. The G400 uses local person recognition and zone intrusion with no cloud processing. The G410 uses mmWave radar, which Aqara positions as more accurate than PIR for filtering out pets, wind and shadows. Different approaches to the same problem — false alerts — and worth reading current owner reviews on each before deciding which failure mode annoys you less.
What to check on the listing before you buy
Listings drift. Before you click buy:
- Current price. The figures here are what was listed; check what it says today.
- Variant. The G410 comes in black and gray at the same $144.99 — confirm you're on the color you want, since colorway pages sometimes price differently.
- What's in the box. Chimes are included on the Aqara models. microSD cards are not included on the G4 or G410. The G4's AA battery pack is included.
- Your voltage. The Wemo needs 16–24V AC. The G4 accepts 12–24V AC or 8–24V DC. The G400 takes 8–24V AC/DC or PoE. Check your transformer.
- Warranty and seller. Confirm the coverage terms and whether you're buying from the brand or a third party.
- Recent reviews. Read the newest owner reviews yourself, especially around firmware updates and HomeKit reliability — that's the category where things change fastest.
Consider instead if…
Aqara G410 (Black) or Aqara G410 (Gray) — $144.99. Consider this if you want the doorbell to also be your smart home hub. It has Zigbee and Matter hubs built in, so it can connect and manage sensors, lights and locks directly — no separate hub purchase. It also adds Matter and Home Assistant compatibility on top of HomeKit, Alexa, Google and SmartThings, plus mmWave radar detection and the theft-resistant microSD slot in the chime. The $45 premium over the G400 buys the hub and the radar.
Aqara Video Doorbell G4 — $79.99. Consider this if you have no wiring. It runs on a 6× AA battery pack (batteries included) or existing wiring, and it's the only unit here with a stated 24/7 recording mode — wired only, microSD required. It also supports NAS storage over Samba and includes a 95 dB chime-repeater that can act as a siren alongside Aqara hubs and child devices. Trade-offs: 1080p, 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only, and Aqara recommends installing it in a porch or shaded area.
Wemo Smart Video Doorbell — $69.99. Consider this if the widest possible view is your priority and you're purely an Apple household. Its 223° diagonal FOV is the largest stated here, with infrared for low light and HDR. It's the cheapest entry point, but it's wired-only at 16–24V AC and its listing describes HomeKit compatibility rather than the broader multi-ecosystem support the Aqara units advertise.
FAQ
Do I need an iCloud+ subscription for a HomeKit doorbell? For HomeKit Secure Video recording and playback, yes. Both the G400 and the G4 listings state an iCloud+ / iCloud subscription is required, and the G400 also requires an Apple home hub. Without those, you can typically still view a live feed, but recorded clips are the paid part.
Does HomeKit Secure Video count against my iCloud storage? Apple's HSV footage is stored in iCloud, and the G400 listing specifically describes encrypted recording with iCloud storage. Check Apple's current iCloud+ tier terms for how many cameras each plan covers — that limit, not the doorbell, is usually what forces an upgrade.
Can I use one of these without HomeKit at all? The Aqara models list support for other platforms — Alexa, Google Assistant and SmartThings across the range, plus Matter and Home Assistant on the G410, and RTSP/ONVIF/NVR on the G400. The G4 adds IFTTT. So yes, and the G400 in particular is unusually flexible if you leave Apple later.
Is the microSD card included? No. The G4 and G410 both support cards up to 512GB, and both listings note the card is not included. On both, the slot sits inside the indoor chime rather than the outdoor unit.
Related guides
- Wyze Cam Pan v3 vs Tapo C220 for monitoring hamster cages overnight
- Affiliate Disclosure
- Privacy Policy
Key Takeaways
- Choosing the right video doorbell for apple homekit means matching the key features to your specific needs and budget
- Read real customer reviews and check the return policy before you commit
- Compare value across models — the priciest option is not always the best fit